Last-Minute Leak Reveals ASUS ROG Phone 8 Images

Well, well, well. Look what we’ve got here. The ASUS ROG Phone 8 and its big brother, the ROG Phone 8 Pro, have been making quite a splash. They’ve been popping up in renders all over the place. And the ‘Pro’ model? It’s been strutting its stuff separately from the initial leak.

Now, we’ve got a well-known tipster dropping more images of the ASUS ROG Phone 8. And guess what? The big reveal is happening later today at CES 2024. Talk about a last-minute leak!

Evan Blass, aka evleaks, is the guy behind these images. He’s one of the best-known tipsters out there. He shared four images via X (formerly known as Twitter). One image shows all three color options side-by-side. The other three? They’re focused on specific models.

Now, let’s talk colors. The device will come in two black models and a gray variant. The backplate is the only difference. All variants will have a black frame. The black models differ in the finish on the back. One has a matte finish, the other a combo of matte and glossy. And the ROG logo on the back? Different color.

The ROG Phone 8 and ROG Phone 8 Pro will look pretty much the same. ASUS decided to go for a design closer to a regular device, compared to previous models. But that ROG logo on the back? It’s pretty pronounced.

ASUS also included shoulder triggers on the right-hand side, for gaming. The phone’s regular physical buttons are also on the right side of the ROG Phone 8. And the cameras? You’ll find three on the back, all part of a single camera island.

Under the hood, both the ROG Phone 8 and ROG Phone 8 Pro will be powered by the Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 SoC. They’ll come with Android 14 pre-installed, along with ROG UI. The ‘Pro’ model will offer more RAM, but both variants will use LPDDR5X RAM. They’ll also both have UFS 4.0 flash storage.

ASUS will use a 5-magnet speaker system on both devices. They’ll also both have a 5,500mAh battery which will support Quick Charge 5.0 and PD charging. That’s at least what the leaked specs say.

The ASUS ROG Phone 8 series will go official later today at CES 2024. The press event kicks off at 3 PM PST / 6 PM EST / midnight CET / 11 PM BST, in case you’re interested.

Craig Diaz
Craig Diaz
Craig Diaz is the driving force behind AndroidStatus. Craig has earned praise for his vast knowledge and infectious enthusiasm. He is an indispensable member of the AndroidStatus team, devoted to brining our readers insightful information about the Android ecosystem.

Related Android News