1. X Premium subscribers have several perks that regular users don’t have, including the ability to hide their likes tab from the public.
2. The posts that users like on the app show up in a feed on their profile, which anyone can see unless they’re blocked.
3. X Premium users can now hide their liked posts on their profiles, allowing them to cover up embarrassing or potentially offensive content.
4. This feature raises ethical concerns, as it gives users the ability to cover up hurtful or inappropriate posts that they have liked in the past.
Being an X Premium Subscriber
Being an X Premium subscriber (or Twitter Blue for those who like the good old days) gives you several perks that regular users don’t have. Most of them add to the content that you show other people, but there’s a new one that does the opposite. According to Engadget, X Premium users will be able to hide their likes tab from the public.
Your X Profile and Liked Posts
Your X profile shows a bunch of information about you, and most people don’t really realize that. It’s easy to forget that the posts you like on the app show up in a feed on your profile. This is something anyone can see unless they’re blocked by you. That’s not really a bad thing, as it shows people what kind of posts brought you joy.
However, X Premium users can now hide their likes feed
Letting people see your liked posts is nice, but not everyone will think so. This is why people are able to hide their liked posts on their profiles. This feature is now available to the public, so X Premium users should already be able to see the feature. If you don’t see it yet, then you might want to wait a day or two. It could take a bit of time for the update to make it to you.
The Ethical Issue with This
So, this feature seems pretty innocuous. It can help people who liked embarrassing posts in the past. Maybe you liked some silly or cringy posts in the past, and you just don’t want them showing up for people now. Or, maybe you frequent the, let’s just say, “spicier” side of the app, and you don’t want others to know that you like that kind of content, you can hide that fact.
This is a useful feature to cover up the past if you’re embarrassed about what you liked. However, and this was a point brought up by Engadget, this also gives people the ability to cover up hurtful or inappropriate posts in the past. Maybe they liked some posts from someone who’s not fond of Jewish people or from someone who’s a little too fond of children.
This feature could give people a quick way to cover up any horrible posts that they liked in the past. It’s just something to think about.